Tags

, , , ,

I like actors. I like their determination. I like the work many of them do. But I do not like actor’s pages just because someone I know (or don’t know) asked me. This applies to Facebook pages, film project pages, IMDb pages, and any other online pages that could possibly be liked.

Where did this unwillingness to blindly like something come from? The simple answer is it was born out of the ridiculous amount of requests for likes from people who want likes for the sake of being liked. Every minute of every day someone is seeking attention for something and many of them have no clue what they’re selling, except for “hey, I’m here so tell me you see me.”

I’m not opposed to liking a page, but I need to qualify it first. If I like it, it means I took the time to look at what you’re doing and give it my support based on specific reasons. If you ask me why I liked your page, I’ll even give you that specific answer, and it has little to do with whether you asked me to like it or not and whether or not you liked my page(s) first.

10 Reasons I Like Your Page

1. The project appears to be a worthwhile one.

2. I’m attached to the project, and I believe in what we’re doing

3. I respect some or all of your past work.

4. I recognize your potential for greater things.

5. I respect you as an artist.

6. I respect you as a professional.

7. You’re someone I consider a mentor.

8. I am committed to spreading the word about your brand, product, or service.

9. I wish to connect you with more sources of support.

10. I’m interested in being a part of what you’re working on.

Ask yourself what has prompted you to blindly give your support to the fellow artist or a project page until now. Carefully consider what that like really means to you and what it communicates to others. You may find yourself liking a lot less on the surface and taking the time to truly like and support the people and projects you are getting behind.

facebook-like-buton

