Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Every actor has someone in his or her life who is vehemently opposed to our choice to act professionally. Whether it’s a spouse, a parent, or a friend, it can create a lot of tension for the actor who feels the need to defend the choice. It can also drive us to work even harder to get what we want. This week’s situation for me relates to the latter.

The “opposer” in my life told me last night that I have no acting goals. There’s some truth to that statement. The truth is, I have not made my goals so explicit that everyone around me knows exactly what I seek. So today I started making my list of goals to share. It’s not enough to keep them stored in my head. I want them to be as large as billboards along the highway to everyone who passes by me.

It didn’t take me long to make my list. Thanks to the live and taped auditions I have done in the last few years, I have a clear sense of the type of work and the kinds of roles available. And I’m not limiting my focus to the region in which I live. I’m thinking far bigger—coast to coast.

Below I listed the roles and project categories that immediately come to mind. I use specific details and include a window of time. It’s not open-ended and speculative. It will happen.

10 Roles I Summon

  • I plan to have a co-starring role in a network TV series shooting in LA in the next 3 months.
  • I plan to have a guest starring role in a network TV series shooting in North Carolina in the next 6 months.
  • I plan to have a guest starring role in a network TV series shooting in Atlanta in the next 6 months.
  • I plan to have a guest starring role in a network TV series shooting in New Mexico in the next 6 months.
  • I plan to have a principal role in a national TV commercial shooting in LA in the next 3 months.
  • I plan to have a principal role in a national TV commercial shooting in New York in the next 3 months.
  • I plan to have a principal role in a national TV commercial shooting in Texas in the next 3 months.
  • I plan to have a supporting role in a film shooting in Austin in the next 6 months.
  • I plan to have a supporting role in a film shooting in New Orleans in the next 6 months
  • I plan to have a supporting role in a film shooting in Atlanta in the next 6 months.

This list will get much fine tuning over time. I didn’t mention specific projects, which would add to the clarity of the goals we establish for ourselves. Identifying specific directors you want to work is another way to make your goals explicit.

I did something similar over the summer by identifying two goals for my auditions. Since then, I secured several first auditions with several casting directors in the region, which was one of my goals. I fully expect to start reaching these new goals quickly too.

What’s on your wish list for roles, who you want to work with, and the type of material that draws your attention are among the factors that will influence your decisions daily as an actor. Instead of waiting for opportunities or solely responding to the ones that come your way, figure out what you truly want. Then begin doing the work to make that dream a reality, even if it scares you a little or a lot today.

Fight Club

