Tags

, , , , , ,

Marc on January 6 2015

Big Man Or Little Big Man?

During my holiday visit to North Carolina recently, I gained some weight. (I won’t say how much.) I credit the great meals out and the even better ones, including gourmet pizzas, made at home by my brother-in-law Eric. He’s a real foodie and made sure the whole family never felt hungry during our stay. Just take a look at what he served for breakfast on my last day there…

11605_10205761619340186_7174316148399230361_n

Breakfast is served at Schofield’s Sookchai Resort and Bistro.

 

Mmm…homemade sausage gravy with hot sauce topping fresh-baked biscuits. I didn’t need to eat lunch that day. I could probably miss a few meals this week and still be okay. But something came up today that prompted me to reflect on my current size and it wasn’t all the holiday calories. It was a casting notice. Check out a bit of the breakdown:

Male / Supporting / Caucasian, Hispanic, Ethnically Ambiguous / 40 – 45; A heavy-set, bearded wrestling fan. He’s big, loud, and rowdy.

That word heavy-set stands out to me. I know I’m not athletic looking or trim, but this type of casting always has me debating whether or not I should be seen for a role involving excess weight. The truth is, I am a bit overweight. But am I overweight enough to matter?

In the past, I have noticed I’m one of the smallest of the so-called big guys at the audition. My round face may mislead casting directors or maybe they are open to seeing a slightly pudgy guys along with the heavier dudes. Either way, it presents a dilemma.

I did respond to my agent about it. The weight (or lack of enough weight) concern was my main point in the email. I attached the photo of myself seen above, taken this morning. Also, I noted that I’m clean-shaven. It would take more than a few weeks for me to grow a decent beard. I’m told my message would be shared with casting.

So what do we little big actors do in this case? I’m sure we would gain the necessary weight for the right role given the proper amount of time. In many situations, it might be worthwhile to go in anyway and just be seen because changes to the role could be made during the casting process. In this case, to have a day’s notice to travel out of town for a one-line audition for a role I don’t see myself physically suited for up front (pun intended), declining the opportunity seems to make sense. But it doesn’t have to end there.

I do remember seeing the original breakdown for this film and spotting a role that felt like a good match. So I sent a message back to my agent mentioning the preferred role. Luckily, I got a green light to go in and read for that one instead.

I better watch my carb intake between now and then.

 

